Locked Heart – review

Locked000

Title screen

I don’t even remember how I came across this game, but I decided to give it a go because I’m biased towards stories based off faery tales and the likes. And before anyone asks – yes it’s in English and yes it’s free, yes it’s worth your time and it’s pretty short.

…for me this kinda helped to make up for the disappointment of Beastmaster & Prince not getting funded (╥﹏╥) And I had a lot of fun playing this – more people should play this (ノ´з`)ノ

Premise, as taken from the official website:

A trip to the next town has diverted Aura to the infamous haunted De Lockes mansion … of talking toys?! Play as Aura as she breaks the curse and possibly strike a romance with one of the 3 bears.

Locked004The story’s parallel to the faery tale was actually minimal – apart from the setting (3 bears) and the names (ie., the family’s name), there wasn’t much else. The curse itself has similarity to Beauty and The Beast, but only slightly. …I’m not sure how to explain.

Again I’ll say this – the game is pretty short, it’s free and it’s in English. And I think – I think it’s better than any of the paid Android otome games I’ve been playing…

Locked001

Royal

You have 3 characters to go for, all of them lovable in their own way.

  • Royal: The strict, serious butler of the De Lockes family.
  • Sol: The gentle, princely heir to the De Lockes family (despite being the younger brother).
  • Deon: The laid back, carefree older son of the De Lockes family who was disinherited.

The story was very well-done – just the right amount of mystery and romance and a little bit of drama thrown in. System was standard VN, so there’s nothing for me to write there. It has a Gallery function but no Scene Recollection; I don’t think it needs it anyway since it’s pretty short.

Locked002

Sol

My preference: Deon —> Royal/Sol. Not that Royal or Sol was bad – for me they simply can’t compete with Deon. Sorry to any Royal or Sol fans – Deon simply had the best kiss scene (*¯ ³¯*)♡ My recommended play order would be… well, it doesn’t really matter. Each of the route reveals a different facet to the entire story, such that it makes no difference which route you play first.

At the beginning I was rather undecided about Aura as a main character. In some situations/scenarios she just seemed… so happy and upbeat. Like, unnaturally upbeat given the situation… but I guess it’s necessary as she’d be needed to lift the mood of the scene when everyone else was rather down. As a character she grew on me, and by the end of the game I think she’s a suitable main character for the story.

Locked003

Deon

Each character got around 8CGs, not counting the variations. I like the CGs, I like the character sprites, I like the background… I have nothing to complain about. In fact, I’m pretty impressed given it’s free.

I do like how the title screen changes to show which character you’ve cleared – for example, once you’ve completed both of Sol’s ending, the picture of Mama Bear on the main screen will change to Sol. Do note you need to get _both_ endings for this feature – when I played I got Deon’s Best Ending but couldn’t get his Good Ending so Deon stayed as a bear on the title screen (I did get it in the end).

I can’t remember much about the music but I think that’s just me. I think I seldom pay attention to the music in a game ( ̄▽ ̄*)ゞ

Final thoughts: definitely worth the time to play. Go play it! (╯✧▽✧)╯
Also there’s the official guide if you need it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Haruna
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 04:15:18

    The artwork looks gorgeous! I mean, I wouldn’t expect to get that kind of wonderful artwork in a free game! I also like the fairy taleness. I’m definitely going to try it some day! Thanks for the tip! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,038 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
