My Forged Wedding on Android – review

Was browsing the Android Market when I saw that My Forged Wedding is out on Android. Since I like the theme and I was on the lookout for a short game, I bought one of the characters… impression, chara intro and mini-review to follow.

First thing first… whoa, crash-fest. This game crashed very often for me, which got me into the habit of saving every so often. After a dozen of so of the crash, I started to expect them to happen… so they were less annoying compared to when it happened the first time around (and by then you’d have gotten into the habit of saving often anyway). At one stage, the game always crashed when it reached the same chapter so I was forced to reinstall the game. More on that below. Note, the crash seems to happen more often if you’re skipping the dialogue. I managed to get past some chapters which usually crashed for me, by not skipping the dialogues and just tapping on the screen to get the dialogue going until the end of the chapter.
Secondly, DAT LOADING TIME. It’s the first game on Android that I’ve ever gotten where the loading time… inspired me to go do other stuff. Like making tea, cleaning my room etc while waiting for the loading to finish. Can anyone tell me if the Pirates in Love is as bad as this one for loading time?

The game’s FAQ said that if you continuously had a problem where the game would crash/freeze on you, to please reinstall the game. …except that when you do that your save data is lost so you have to start again from the beginning. When you add the loading time on that equation… yea, there were times when I thought to stop playing and to try again a few months down the track when the issues would (hopefully) be fixed. Really wished that reinstallations wouldn’t wipe out the save data…

Brief chara intro below… to play the prologue is free, and each character’s story would cost you U$4.

  • Heroine: Came from Kyushu to Tokyo, in the hope that her uncle would be able to help her find a job.
  • Yamato: Teacher. First meeting with the heroine didn’t leave a good impression, with him saying any man who married her would be an unfortunate man (since she failed to recognise that fenugreek is a herb)…
  • Saeki: Scriptwriter. Definitely a ladies’ man, and seems to have a hobby of teasing others.
  • Ren: Researcher. Doesn’t talk much, although it’s rather easy to tell whether or not he liked something from the reaction on his face. Less words, more actions.
  • Takao: Lawyer. Very polite and friendly, and seems to be the voice of reason and maturity in the group.
  • Yuta: Comedian. Cheerful and lively. Story’s not available yet.
  • Kunihiko: Company CEO/pub owner. The heroine’s uncle (more of a distant relative, actually). Looking at him you wouldn’t think he’s the CEO of a successful company… Story’s not available yet.

Rivi has screenshots of the available character profiles in-game. I found the other characters’ comment about Ren… to be somewhat spot-on. Oddly, after playing the prologue I actually quite like all of the characters. …except for Kunihiko, although I’m more bothered about his goatee than I am about the fact that he’s the heroine’s relative.

I bought Ren randomly (couldn’t decide between the others), and I’ve just finished playing his story. There was around 16 chapters in the story, and Ren’s… was very entertaining (and I found myself going “squeeee” from time to time), although the ending at the end left me rather ” (.__.     ) ……that’s it???” …felt like the story’s just getting to the best part when it suddenly ended (…that might had been the pervert in me talking, to be honest… best part = make out session).  …for U$4, I think the price is rather steep… considering the length of the story… somewhere around U$2-2.50 per character probably feels about right, considering the technical issues you have to contend with.

Each character has 2 endings, Happy Ending and Super Happy Ending. I think the options are quite easy, considering I didn’t play with a guide and got the Super Happy Ending on my first try. And speaking of the system… the game said that if you put in your email address, the character will sometimes send you an email after you finish a chapter. …it doesn’t work. Replayed the game several times (due to reinstallations) and finished the game… and still no email in sight. Why offer a feature that doesn’t work…? It boggles the mind…

I intend to buy the other characters, but that will most likely be in a few months… hoping that in the meantime they’ll improve the loading time, fix the crashes and get the email system to work. Then at least the U$4 price tag wouldn’t seem so intimidating…

65 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 22:38:42

    I bought it on my iPhone. It crashed a few times and it still has 2 or 3 Japanese sentences in the game O_o. I can’t read the kanji -_-;)
    The uncle pissed me off, because he didn’t even felt bad pimping me off to his friends! Never gonna buy him!
    I played Seaki first (pervy guy ^_^) and got a super happy ending. Then Takao, his story made me claustrophobic and got a happy ending. I’m not playing again for the super happy ending with him. Yamato was more fun then I thought, happy ending-> replaying for super happy end. Ren was last, super happy end and it was also a fun route. But a little tame for my taste.

    Oh and the mail, I got some. I still have the feeling that it doesn’t work so well. I had to make a special yahoo account for that when I played Pirates in Love. My hotmail and gmail didn’t work for some reason.

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 18, 2012 @ 22:48:24

      Oh? Interesting… does it have to be a yahoo.co.jp email account? Or will a normal yahoo.com email account will work?
      Also, LOL @ the uncle pimping her out… I did think of that at the beginning, then forgot about it…

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Voltage released a new otome game in english~ « Rivi's Adventures in Otome Gaming
  3. Dee
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 23:09:42

    Normal yahoo account. In some of the stories Kuni isn’t so mean about it, but in one or two it really feels like blackmail! Can’t remember which ones, but I’m glad I don’t have an uncle like that!!
    Don’t know how the girls parents got acquainted to him…. Maybe he blackmailed them too? LOL he is really like the devil.

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 19, 2012 @ 01:31:56

      Alright, replayed Ren’s story from start to finish and used a yahoo email account. All that’s left is to wait (for any kind of email whatsoever). Do the emails come straight after you played the game, or was there a time gap/wait?

      Reply

  4. Laura Lanford
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 01:00:51

    Interesting, I wanted to try it out since every guy seems kinda interesting (unlike Pirates in Love, I’m not very fond of the pirate theme), however, after reading about the crashes, I’m not too inclined anymore…

    The addons, are you free to redownload/reinstall them after buying it once? (would feel like a ripoff otherwise, but I have to ask)

    LOL @ everyone being harsh on the ossan, these kind of characters tend to be my fav ones ^^;;

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 19, 2012 @ 01:30:05

      After you buy the add-on, they’re accessible to you even with redownloads/reinstalls. Otherwise I can imagine a riot of people requesting for refunds…

      I’m normally OK with ossan characters (unless he’s drawn like a 50-80 years old). But an ossan character who went “I’ll help you find a job if you’d pretend to be married to one of my buddies.” …it made me feel like I was getting pimped out with the said uncle being the pimp. …actually, if this had been an 18+ otome game that’s probably what would had happened. (I’ve played too many horrible 18+ games to be able to spot the typical scenario…)

      Reply

  5. Dee
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 02:42:56

    @Laura, lol! I was very annoyed with him for getting me in so much trouble ^_^>
    You can reload/install for free after buying once. I don’t know which I liked better. I think this one, because I enjoyed more then 1 story. With the Pirates it was just Nathan.

    @Sharakael sometimes there is a time gap. I don’t know how much time, its different each time. I don’t like uncles hair and goatee. And that when things get complicated, he just laugh at my misery T_T

    Reply

  6. Rivi
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 08:41:44

    I didn’t have any crashing issues at all on my ipod touch… weird. I didn’t get a single email after playing two full routes, though, and Yamato’s route had at least 4 screens of completely untranslated dialogue (wtf? their q&a must have gotten lazy).

    Yamato’s route made me cry near the end ;.;. Takao’s was really sweet. I’ll have to play Ren’s then Saeki’s. Looking forward to Yuta’s, but I’ll only play Kuni’s route so I can review it. -_-;

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 19:39:16

      I got 2 emails from playing Ren’s route. Although interestingly, neither of those emails was from Ren… they’re from the other guys, commenting about what happened in Ren’s story.

      I’ll look forward to your review :D At the moment I’m not interested in either Kuni or Yuta…

      Reply

  7. Hinano
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 07:36:47

    Thanks for the review, I don’t like forking money over for unvoiced games but the crashing woulda made me flip a desk. If you can’t get your games to work properly then make them free with ads for f’cks sake (  ゚,_ゝ゚)

    Reply

  8. Mitsuhana
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 18:44:01

    This game works on any android phones, don’t they? I can’t afford an i-Phone, so… (._. )”

    Reply

  9. tenshieffect
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 03:52:33

    Yeah, the loading times in this game was pretty bad. T_T
    I was doing homework and making ramen in the background while I waited for this game to load. ^_^;

    Don’t worry about Pirates in Love (Android Version) loading times, it’s nothing compared to this mess. It’s probably because it has been updated a few times since release. :D

    In the meantime, I guess that I’ll just replay Hakuoki or 999 until this game’s problems has been fixed with an update.

    Reply

  10. Lisa
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 15:48:38

    It was such a lovely story indeed, and i love it very much :)

    Reply

  11. aliceeyychan (@aliceeyychan)
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 18:26:08

    I got Pirates in love (PIL) on android…before the update the loading time was fast, after they updated it, it took forever!!!~ I also had to reinstall the app after the download…it completely screwed up on me.

    My forged wedding (MFW)…OMFG it was an even longer wait than PIL! But kinda worth it! Loved the end pervy scene with Yamato, and Ren too, lol, it’s always the quiet ones! :P I recommend thoses two for people who wanna buy it. :D

    The other guys were good too. If I could actually meet and marry any one of the guys, I’d go for Takao. He was sweet and so nice to his family! :)
    Saeki was a playboy, turned boyfriend. But cute, none-the-less.

    BUT there were alot of typos and I used my gmail account…it accepted it, but I didn’t get any emails either. Sigh. It worked for PIL thou… oh well. I wanted to read those emails. Pouts.

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 18:54:00

      Hahaha, I’d probably go for Saeki next, followed by Yamato… and leaving Takao for last, simply because I like his type ^^
      But well, that will still be in a month of two, hopefully by then they’d fixed the issues… I noticed in Ren’s route there were dialogues that were repeated 2-3 times <_<
      And I got 2 emails from Ren's route… and they were just so-so. I'm hoping that there are actually more than 2 emails, and that they simply hadn't fixed it/gotten it to work yet…

      Reply

  12. Lisa
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:25:02

    Im so addicted to the story, and i have finish all :)

    Reply

  13. Lisa
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:29:14

    By the way, is there any possible that Yuta character to be unlocked?

    Reply

  14. Caroline
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 02:04:11

    WOW!!!!! omg this really helped me!!!! it’s like you read my mind!!!! Your having this problem 2!?!?!

    Reply

  15. Caroline
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 04:47:10

    Ummm and please answer…did your game happen to exit out the game when it took to long and it said “Report” and “Force to Close” ?????

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Apr 06, 2012 @ 13:01:42

      I’m sorry, your other comment looked like some of the spam comments that usually showed up, so I didn’t approve it immediately <_<;;
      And yes… the game would exit on its own when the loading time takes too long.

      Reply

  16. Lisa
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 19:19:29

    Does anyone get to see saeki Last picture?. because i don’t see the pictures even though i have finish it with Super Happy Ending… :(

    Reply

  17. Dee
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 01:38:10

    @Lisa I got the last picture with the Super Happy End. You can’t see them when you go to “Scene” in the menu?

    Reply

  18. Lisa
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 10:52:53

    Yeah, i don’t see the last pictures :(.

    Reply

  19. Lisa
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 16:10:45

    supposed super happy end will show 6 pictures don’t they?

    Reply

    • Dee
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 01:55:07

      @Lisa, yes. All of them. Maybe you can remove the app and install it again? That’s what Voltage usually recommend.

      Reply

  20. Yumiko
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 12:47:28

    How come I can’t save the geme successfully? i have to restart from the beginning whenever I stop playing even after I have safe it? and when it showed that my date have been successfully saved? Please help!

    Reply

  21. Lisa
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 19:04:26

    So sad i can’t play that app :(

    Reply

  22. ria
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 04:23:54

    I downloaded it through google play and it says it can work on the galaxy s2 but after the voltage screen it just blacks out. Does it require some other app like flash or something?

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 17:57:52

      I’m not sure… I already have flash installed on my phone prior to installing MFW, so I can’t confirm for you whether it’d work without flash.

      Reply

  23. yuureishi
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:41:05

    Agh..the costs is too expensive i think,a week ago i look the costs of every character is $4,38 … that’s too much.. >.<
    and i don't have credit card to bought it, damn… :(
    but,i reallly want to play Ren story/.. :(
    huwaa.////
    hope it can buy from ATM card..

    Reply

  24. AranKkshun (@Aran_Kkshun)
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:46:36

    Huwaaa….i think the costs is so expensive for me, a week ago i looked at in Play Store/Android Market every character costs are $4,38 .. And i don’t have Credit Card to buy it… damn.. :(
    i hope it can buy from ATM cards , because i really really want to buy and play Ren main story.. :( :( :(

    Reply

    • Amanda Metzler
      Dec 02, 2013 @ 03:16:06

      You can use a Google Play Card, that’s what I did. I messed up registering one of my cards on an alternate email but I got to use another and I bought Yamato’s story first. And wow! It’s an awesome story. I can’t wait to get to the end.

      Reply

  25. Faye
    May 06, 2012 @ 23:54:57

    Ummm… Do i really need to buy the characters? Bec. When i downloaded it, it already have characters in it. And you know, i have downloaded it for 7 times already but right from the start it freeze, or maybe it’s still loading?

    Reply

    • sharakael
      May 07, 2012 @ 09:25:57

      Yes you need to buy them. The game you download is only the prologue, which introduces all of the characters. To play each character’s route you need to buy them.
      I can’t help you with the freeze issue… you’d need to email the developers and tell them about the problem you’ve been having.

      Reply

  26. Nhu Nguyen
    May 11, 2012 @ 17:27:43

    I was having problem with downloading Yuta at first. Had to reopen the app again and that was when the download finally worked. However, when it was done, Yuta’s icon remained as its original state – “unpurchased”. So I followed the advice on FAQ and deleted the app then reinstalled it then found myself with all the stories (I bought all four beforehand and they were working fine :P) disappeared!! I already emailed to the support, still havent received any reply till now though. It cost quite a lot since I’m in New Zealand – $5.29 for each!! Definitely don’t want to buy everything AGAIN!! @.@ Think you can help? :( Please help!! I love this game TT^TT

    Reply

  27. Rillania
    May 29, 2012 @ 11:28:16

    Have you tried re-playing the game recently? I’m debating buying a character route, so I stumbled upon your page looking for game reviews, so I’m curious to know if they’ve fixed the untranslated text/crashes you’ve been talking about. The prologue didn’t crash for me, but I’m assuming you were talking about just route crashes :P. I’ll probably still buy a route but the whole crash/untranslated text will probably determine if that’s now or in a month XD

    Reply

    • sharakael
      May 31, 2012 @ 12:02:46

      I haven’t, sorry… I noticed 2 updates since then, but haven’t had the time to try another character.
      Just wait to get it, it’s not like the price will increase or it will get sold out or anything ;)

      Reply

  28. larah
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 11:48:52

    im trying to install the game ‘My forged wedding” but.. its not working it says that i didnt access the google play app. store.. did someone know how to access it??

    Reply

  29. Justine
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 07:15:59

    Does this game work on the iPod Touch?
    I played the free beginnning part and I really want to play it! But they give you a warning about how its for iPhone.
    I dont want to waste buying it if I cant play it :S
    Help!

    Reply

  30. Mei
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:54:14

    Hey Guys, Guess what? Yuta in MFW is out now!!! :) haha
    now just waiting on the other one

    Reply

  31. Minkaos
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 19:20:20

    This game looks like a lot of fun! I played through the prologue, but I was wondering – when you buy a character, does the game file get any bigger? Because my phone’s internal memory is very limited :/ (I managed to install the app, but it’s totally full now, lol).

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jun 15, 2012 @ 23:28:04

      Hmm… no, I wouldn’t say so. After buying a character, I remember I could just play the scenario without downloading anything else. Maybe someone else will be able to confirm…?

      Reply

  32. xserenity
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 11:58:28

    I think it sucks that you have to buy each character and they cost like $4+ -___-; I just dled the game…so far, it works OK but idk about that yet!

    not sure what character to buy yet or if i’ll buy one at the moment. But anyways, I was wondering approximately how long is each character’s route?

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 13:32:32

      I’d say… if you play non-stop, something like 2-3 hours? That’s assuming each chapter takes you 15min to read. I can’t remember anymore, honestly…

      Reply

      • xserenity
        Jun 29, 2012 @ 13:44:39

        Ohh! That’s no so bad then! The prologue wasn’t as long as I thought it would be. Still unsure which character I should go for! And yep, it’s $3.99 on the android market? I assume there is…tax? Idk, I don’t buy games too often. I wish each character would would cost less, then I’d go for all of them (besides the uncle).

        Reply

  33. kymorimochi
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 13:18:19

    What I find strange is that.
    I’m playing on Android tablet, and I’m playing the full version for free. (._. ;)
    Its true, loading takes awhile and freezes here and there, but I got used to it.
    You have to pay to play on IPod, but its free on android.

    Reply

  34. GameLover!!!!!!!!!
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 23:18:16

    I have Samsung Galaxy s3 mini and i have download the game-My forged wedding, and instaled it.Then i wanted to purchase Yamato i couldn’t do it,it just opened a new blank and then it requires to register….How do i register?I want to register but when i klik it it just appears a black blank and nothing else….

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 08:20:14

      Sorry, I can’t help you. Your best bet is to email the developers and ask for their help… what did it ask you to register for anyway? I don’t remember having to register for anything…

      Reply

  35. GameLover!!!!!!!!!
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 23:21:37

    Oooh,and did i mentined that i’m in Serbia… :P I need help!!!!

    Reply

  36. yanara
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 20:15:13

    hi i really dont know how to buy characters can you please help me ?
    i really want to play this -___________________- ..

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Mar 09, 2013 @ 17:22:02

      After you download and install the game, you can play through the prologue… once you finish the prologue it will ask you which character you want to buy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 87 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 349,464 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
