Portalicious goodness (Portal)

Am sort of back from hiatus, but haven’t been playing any otome games at all… as a matter of fact, I’ve been sucked into Portal. The official site doesn’t really explain what sort of game it is, so go to Wikipedia. I started playing Portal since the second game was coming up, and I thought I wanted to finish the first game before moving on to the second one. My post will mostly be about… well, me converting into a Portal fangirl. Hard.

Ever had a feeling that you’re liking and enjoying a game so much that you don’t want it to end? Well, Portal was that for me. At the start I was playing because my other half tried so bad to convince me that it’d be fun. And seeing as how the second game has a co-op functionality, I thought it’s not bad to play and try the co-op component. So I was playing co-op in Portal 2 while playing the story for Portal 1, and continued with the story in Portal 2 after completing both the co-op and Portal 1. A bit out of order, but well.

One of the thing I liked about Portal was how it didn’t rush you. The game’s content to let you stand there or walk around examining your surroundings as you try to figure out the solution to the puzzle. In fact, as you stand around, the dialogues get funnier and funnier… but definitely not the game for you if you dislike solving physics-based puzzles.

The best part where Portal shone though, was the dialogues. I love the sarcastic, black humour they employed in Portal 1 & 2. That the main character was your traditional mute didn’t detract from the enjoyment. There’s a reason why GLaDOS won video game awards for best character. Sample dialogue from Portal: “The Enrichment Center promises to always provide a safe testing environment. In dangerous testing environments, the Enrichment Center promises to always provide useful advice. For instance, the floor here will kill you. Try to avoid it.” And another sample from Portal 2: Oh, in case you get covered in that Repulsion Gel, here’s some advice the lab boys gave me: [sound of rustling pages] “Do not get covered in the Repulsion Gel.” We haven’t entirely nailed down what element it is yet, but I’ll tell you this: It’s a lively one, and it does not like the human skeleton.

It’s rather hard to explain how and why I love Portal so much… all I know is that I’m addicted, and I’m typing this at work all the while thinking I’d really love to go home early today to play Portal… either continuing Portal 2 or replaying Portal 1 from the start.

For some samples of what the humour is like, go to the Media & Downloads section in the official site and watch some of the promotional videos. And if you have the cash to spare and you like solving puzzles, get the first game. I think it’s around $10 on Steam.

As for me… I’m still trying to figure out a way to buy Portal-related merchandise without spending a fortune on shipping… hoodie, plushie, t-shirt, mug, posters… and I don’t even need any of these.

Anyways. No otome game for me until I’ve had my fill of Portalicious goodness. For science!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimichii
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 13:16:34

    Omg. Portal. I love that game. Nearly died from happiness when I saw the Portal 2 game. AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! I’m glad you’ve been converted>:D haven’t started playing Portal 2 yet, but I’m going to get around to it, eventually!! I swear!!๐Ÿ˜›

    (Ps the cake is a lie)

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:47:21

      Portal 2’s dialogues are GOLD๐Ÿ˜€
      If you ever end up buying Portal 2 through Steam do let me know… assuming you want to play co-op with me๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  2. P.
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 14:43:49

    Portal is indeed goodness in so many ways! Sometimes “Still Alive” starts playing in my head…

    BTW, speaking of western games, are you familiar with Bioware RPGs? They have romances for females in them so I though they’re relevant to your interests.๐Ÿ™‚ There are massive female fan communities for every love interest in the Mass Effect and Dragon Age series.

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 16:59:43

      I’ve heard of the romance capabilities in Dragon Age and Mass Effect, but so far the concept of the game itself (story, system, etc) has never interested me. The other question I have would be how much does the romance play a role in the story? Is the romance something that can massively affect the storyline, or is it just something extra you can do like a sidequest? I’ve always been under the impression that it’s the latter, so I’ve never really grown an interest in playing either game ^^; Thanks for commenting though!๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

      • P.
        Jul 08, 2011 @ 14:51:00

        Re: Bioware romances. The romances are a “side story”, but they do affect the main storyline in some ways, like the endings. (Spolers: in Dragon Age: Origins your romance might end you up dead, a queen, or something else.)

        Dragon Age 2 has a demo if you want to try it out (it’s not one of Bioware’s greatest, however…) You can also get Dragon Age: Origins for 10 bucks on Amazon and all the other older Bioware titles are really cheap, so you can’t lose much by trying them out. Give them a chance!๐Ÿ™‚ They’re really great games, even without the romance component.

        Reply

  3. shwippie
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 09:10:22

    >:U Now I must play this. I’ve been thinking about it but never could tell what it was really about….but this review convinces me *u*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,038 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
