Machinarium

While wondering what game to play next, a friend pointed out that it’s currently end-of-year financial sale, and mentioned that he saw a game he thought I’d like called Machinarium. Went to the official website, agreed that I liked the look of the game, and went out to buy it. Could had bought it off Steam, but buying it from Steam wouldn’t give me the OST, so I thought, why not. The physical copy came with its own walkthrough book and poster, and since the price was about the same as buying it off Steam, well…


Having just finished the game, I think it’s a fantastic game. For a start, the graphic was definitely very polished. Can’t quite explain it, but the whole game had a hand-drawn feeling to it, which I absolutely loved. Also, if you go to the official site you can download wallpapers (essentially different sceneries within the game with resolutions).

Gameplay itself was traditional point-and-click adventure. Click, get item A, click, get item B, combine A+B, give/use item, continue (you can see a demo video on Steam)… and note that there’s no dialog in the game. When necessary, instead of dialogue the characters would had illustrated thought bubbles, which I thought was a very cute touch. And it being a puzzle solving game… I admit I got stuck numerous times, and wasn’t patient enough to figure out the solution on my own and used the guide that came with the game. Then again, it’s not difficult to find a guide on the net. With a guide, the game length was shortened by a lot for me… it’s not a game that’s designed to take you days to finish, I think.

The game’s OST was excellent. Within the game, there were streetside musicians whose instruments were broken (screenshot above). Once you fixed their instruments, they’d start playing a song… the moment I heard the song I resolved to find it (*__*  ) Thankfully, the physical copy came with an OST CD plus 5 bonus tracks, and the song played by the robotic band was among the bonus track. Even better, the 5 bonus tracks were released for free, and you can download it here (it’s the first song on the list). Even if that song was free… I thought it was worth it paying ~$20 just to experience the game and discover the song.

According to the concept art notes, the game took 3 years to finish, with roughly a month dedicated to each stage… and it showed. Everything, the background, was richly drawn with no details left out. I remember at one point admiring a wall on which individual brick lines had been drawn… and that part of the wall took up even less than 10% of the whole screen. I thought, good Lord, for so much details to be put in on an area people wouldn’t likely to look at twice…

In short, it’s a game I’m very happy to have acquired and played. Might not be to everyone’s taste, but at the very least you should go to the official website, download the demo and try it out. You might be as pleasantly surprised as I was (^__^  )

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Botanicula – review « Otome Gaming Diary

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,038 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
