Monochrome Heaven impression

Kept on forgetting to write this.

A few months back I came across this review for Monochrome Heaven and decided to check it out. After a brief search, managed to find a walkthrough and played all the routes, and agreed with the review completely… the story’s very well thought out, even if the sci-fi element in the last ending felt like it came out of nowhere.

In particular, the very last ending which you can access after finishing everyone else… felt very strange. It’s not what I’d call a happy ending, but it’s not sad either. It just… felt strange to me. It’s befitting, I guess, and judging from the setting and the situation the characters found themselves in, it’s also probably the best possible outcome. But still… felt very strange.

But the game is, again, good, as the way the story was told would keep you curious until you get to the last ending, where it’d explain everything.

…actually, I was hoping that the last ending would be a happy end for Akito and Luna… because as strange as it may sound I actually like Akito I’m completely ignoring the fact that he’s psychotic and had ordered all of his previous fiancee to be killed lalalalala

In any case, a good game to play if you feel like playing something dark. Also, I noticed that DIGICLA took down MoshiKimi (it’s no longer available for download). So if you’re interested in playing this one, you better go and download it before it’s no longer available.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amaya
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 21:08:17

    I’ve played this together with Edahana’s Monochrome Wish. Both of them are very good games 🙂

    About Akito.., I didn’t use a walkthrough to get a happy ending since I caught the hint of ‘telling nothing but the truth’.

    It was frustrating at first, to keep on dying xD

    Oh yeah, there’s a limited April Fool’s Day release at DIGICLA but the server was down when a lot of people went to download them so the creator will re-release them at a later time for those who missed the release.

    By the way, I hope the creator will re-release Moshimo no Kimi to Boku. It’s very interesting!

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Apr 06, 2010 @ 13:04:10

      Aww… hope DIGICLA will re-release the April Fool game… April Fool’s day usually went over my head and I never thought to check game sites to see what they do for April’s Fool *lol*

      And yes, MoshiKimi was good. Something about how the whole story got explained only at the last ending worked really well for that game 🙂

      Reply

  2. amekoe
    May 30, 2011 @ 02:58:16

    Question:
    I went onto the site and downloaded the game, but when I tried to unzip the (nsa?) file, for some reason, winzip said there was a data error?
    Did I download it wrong? >.<

    Reply

    • sharakael
      May 30, 2011 @ 15:19:28

      If I’m correct, the file format (nsa?) can’t be extracted using WinZip. Maybe try WinRar or 7Zip? I didn’t encounter any issue in extracting the game, as far as I can remember…

      Reply

  3. strawberrymilkhehe
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:41:21

    omgg im playing Monochrome Heaven and i always seem to get the bad ending w/ the butler shooting me in the night !! the walkthrough provide seems to be run down or not working… are there others or can you provide with some steps on what exactly i should do to win ?? thank you for your time !

    Reply

    • sharakael
      May 08, 2016 @ 23:51:35

      I don’t think I can help you much, sorry – I played the game in Japanese and the I’m not sure if the guide I used then would be usable if you’re playing the English version :S
      I’ve also just noticed that the guide I used is no longer available – however googling for “モノクロオムヘヴン 攻略” brought up some results/walkthroughs for the japanese version.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 411,500 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
