Queen of Darkness remake

I… apologise for the lack of updates. Work has been busy and I’ve been trying to give it 110% of my effort to avoid unemployment. So far it’s OK, but it simply means that I don’t really have the luxury of playing long games… and when I do get the time to play, I’ve been forcing myself to finish all of my other games. Too many games installed on my PC; really shouldn’t be installing new games before I finish the old ones.

I posted my review on Queen of Darkness before, and while checking their website again for any other new games they might have, I stumbled across this: Queen of Darkness is getting a remake with 2 new characters, redrawn CG scenes and renewed character designs… and this time, the game’s rating is 15+. I have to admit I’m rather disappointed by that last bit… but all the same, I’ll be looking forward to it. Release date is 2009, and since 2009 is ending hopefully it’d be out soon…? Then I can ask Himeya to order it for me as an XMas gift to myself…

Too many games to buy… after HaruToki 3 with Izayoiki Aizouban, KOEI released HaruToki 3 Unmei no Meikyuu Aizouban (also in Premium Box and Treasure Box version, as usual)… and I still haven’t bought Kiniro no Corda 2f Encore TT__TT …don’t think I’ll get the Premium Box though, since the contest doesn’t really interest me…

An interesting point (although I don’t think anyone else would be interested), I noticed that all 3 versions of HaruToki 3 Unmei no Meikyuu Aizouban are still available in Play-Asia. I found that rather strange… usually the Treasure Box version would be sold out even before the release date. A sign of the troubled economic times, maybe? Or maybe Play-Asia simply ordered too much stock…

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keo
    Oct 25, 2009 @ 18:38:51

    D: oh my gosh they really are! Thanks for the news. Haha it's nice to see you're still alive too 8D but yeah life really sucks blogging out. I also agree with your disappointment, I guess they want to make a new game for all their 15+ fans that played the Second Reproduction. Buuut:/ I find it takes away all the good of the original Queen of Darkness. The art looks nicer, because it's from the same artist who did the Second Reproduction but looking at the comparisons from previous CGs, xD I prefer the old way they looked.

    Reply

  2. Sharakael
    Oct 31, 2009 @ 16:36:09

    I'm a bit torn about the new art… I thought Garm looked better since he no longer looked like a body-builder, but I like the old Hellvady better… can't win in everything I guess XDI just went back to the site, and noticed that they have a Replay+ Disc as well… wonder what it's for?

    Reply

  3. murasaki-gamer
    Dec 13, 2009 @ 06:01:29

    I'm spilling blood at the moment…but why is Taniyama Kishou voicing one of the characters in the QOD remake? XDDI found this hard to believe. I listened to the voice sample and double-checked the CV, and …yep.

    Reply

  4. Megumi
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 01:55:52

    <_< Me got annoyed at the game. THEY DON'T WANT TO LET ME HAVE A GOOD ENDING

    -sobs-

    Me is going to play other games… dunno… Starry Sky or Alice in the country of clover…

    Who knows?

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Oct 04, 2010 @ 12:25:26

      Hmm… haven’t played the remake so I can’t help you there:/ I don’t even know if the game system has stayed the same, or if it’s been modified…

      Reply

    • Rumi
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 10:23:57

      Megumi hi! can you tell me if you already played queen of darkness? T_T i need a walkthrough as soon as possible or someone that understands the game haha :3 i’m obsessed with Cristval’s route, but the gameplay is making me so crazy x_x oh gosh…

      Reply

  5. Megumi
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:03:53

    I finally (FINALLY) finished it! LOL. There was like only ONE hinting guide in this entire network I found.

    I really liked the story so I was sad not to have all the endings. T.T

    Anyway~ Basically, Christina is in the demon country to kill off the demon King~ yada yada~ Her knight Masato (me and names = never the right name) got uh, bombed. well, not bombed but he had that collar that would kill him if he left the country. Either way, the little Princess is stuck here~

    Of course, that only means two things: You have a Demon King to fend, his servant to avoid and your knight to protect!๐Ÿ˜„

    Hmm~ I never played the first, but I liked the remake. The story is kinda bittersweet.

    Funny thing is that the ending I liked the most was the Demon King’s bad one. If I had to rate the endings, it will go like this: The Demon King’s Doll > Radiance of Happiness > The Eternal Prisoner of Love > Masato.

    Yes, I hated the knight. Whether the good or bad endings, I hated them…

    Demon King is sweet and slightly perverted. Knight is shy and innocent. And Jin is… an emo. Lol. And he is a fanatic of bondage.

    Anyway, that was what I thought~

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 16:49:37

      Thank you for posting this๐Ÿ˜€ one day I’ll hopefully get around to playing this… hopefully…

      Reply

  6. Megumi
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:07:09

    Hmmm~ you can erase this message after you read it.

    I was wondering if you wanted to know the routes. xD (Since you didn’t play it~)

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 16:51:15

      Yea, no worries๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for posting the routes. Seems like not many people have played the game…

      Reply

  7. Megumi
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 22:43:14

    Hm, actually, I just revealed some stuff but it’s not the full route.

    Also, to get the good routes, you must resolve some of the HINT missions you get in the game. As I didn’t know I had to do it, I basically raised the love stats to maximum and wondering what to do next. haha.

    *spoilers alert*
    Okay. So basically, if I’ve understood the game well. The Queen is the villain. The princess went to the Demon country to kill the Demon King because they are the “villains”. But instead of killing them, they get more or less imprisoned in the country, unable to leave if they do not sacrifice the life of Masato. They are forced to stay in the castle.

    The Princess (whose name I already forgot oo””) has divination powers. I don’t think they really gave an explanation for that, but she has visions of the future. So, you’ll have hints of what would happen in the future (such as killing people or people you love dying and stuff that aren’t really pretty).

    As you stay in the Demon country, you realize that, maybe, the demon race isn’t that bad. You realize how deeply humans are wrong about their ‘atrocious’ nature. And that’s where the route begins to really influence the thing.

    If you go for the Demon King, (which I strongly advise you to) you would discover how sweet and gentle he actually is. You can get a scene where he basically go “omg, what do I have to give her?”๐Ÿ˜„ He wants to offer you a jewel as a gift but he is indecisive. The salesman is like “take the one that looks like her eyes, my king.” and he goes like “BUT HER EYES ARE MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN ANYTHING IN THE WORLD!” And I was like LOL. Anyway, he will buy everything in the shop because he just doesn’t know what to give you which I find really sweet.

    In your visions, you see that the Demon King doesn’t go physical with you because, uh, he is scared of what will happen next. Because your mother, the Queen, tells you to kill him or she will consider you as a traitor. And in the visions, he DOES die. You are therefore just as painfully scared of what would happen next. Anyway, Catherina (I think that’s her name… I think) finally manages to convince the King to uh.. embrace her. In the end, she gets pregnant. The Human Kingdom attacked, forcing the Demon King to take the arms himself. He goes to the front and puts his wife, his consort, you in the game (yeah, I use you), in safety.

    But you are no damsel in distress! You go to join your honey in the battle ;D

    Bad Ending: You convince the King to let you see your mother. Unfortunately, she knows you are the King’s consort and have his child. She will kill you and your unborn baby, making the King go insane. His power would run wild and kill all humans. In the end, you see that he has a puppet shaped like you and well, live his life with the puppet, killing all the leaving humans. Because he doesn’t care. He just cares about that puppet, you.

    Good Ending: The King refuses to let you go. He stays with you until you meet your mother. I haven’t totally understood what happened next. I think that um, your mother used to be in a relationship with a demon (? No really, I got confused there. Blame language barriers). Either way, she resented the demon race and wanted to wipe them out. As a result, the Princess was just a tool, a means to an end. The Queen tried to kill him, forcing you to kill her instead. Hm, the final scene shows that you have married the Demon King and are being painted… and that the King is still a spoiled brat trying to give you mountains of presents. xD

    Jin.
    He has only one ending. In the game, he is basically the one with the least morals. He got you drunk and took advantage of you. He has a supposedly bad past: he had a sister that got killed because of him. Not bad enough to explain his behavior, but still. Um, so, he is confusing in the game because he basically goes “There is no ‘us'” and then, when the Demon King flirts with her, he just goes “HMPF!”. And in that part, the heroine is kinda stupid sometimes lol. He is super experience with tying people up so she was like “Oh, about these ties you do, how do you do them? Even when I trained in the army, I never saw such effective ones.” And then he is “lemme show you.” AND TIE HER ARMS. And then she goes “Oh, oh, it really doesn’t come off!” LOL I laughed so hard at that part XDDD Then he fed her cake. He took big parts so she’d end up getting cake all over herself and he could… do stuff.

    Anyway, hm, the change in their relationship is when she got kidnapped. He had come to save her and went a little uh “I realized you were special”. Yes, the word “special” is important because the heroine often pointed out that he only qualified as “interesting”. Anyway, the ending is her being his wife and participating in his work. He goes a little “I’m going to tie you up~” and she replies things like “In exchange, I’ll tie your heart up.” Cheesy xD

    Masato
    He is basically the knight on a white horse. Except that he lost his horse and became your second in command.๐Ÿ˜„

    Hm, in the plot, he is someone that worked for you ever since he was… young. He grew up strong and refused to get married even though he was immensely popular (guess why lol). There are clear hints that he likes you, such as a moment where you ask him what kind of clothes he liked and he goes “ARMY UNIFORMS!” and you teased him a little and then he mutters that he prefers the one wearing it (you).

    Either way, in the visions, he kills himself. It is later known that apparently, you had killed people before and suppressed the memories. Masato had been assigned to you permanently to make sure you would never remember them. He had therefore killed himself to avoid letting you remember these memories. Also, in these visions, you had seen that the Demon King would be killed for your sake. Uh, something about liking you or something, I don’t really remember. (details eludes to me as I got tired of playing it over and over lol)

    So, um, the Demon King and Masato become fast friends. He even gave Masato tips on how to uh.. enjoy any experience with you. xD So yes, you did enjoy yourself with him.

    Good ending: You become queen and he stays your knight. Over. (how flat, right?)

    Bad Ending: The Demon King is killed. However, you do not become Queen. You and Masato, angry of what happened, went to the resisting side, fighting together the evil of the world.

    ;3 I hope my writing was good enough~

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 15:35:40

      Thanks for writing this down!๐Ÿ˜€
      I think it’s one of the those games I’d absolutely adore… considering how fun the first game was.
      …it’s a pity Heterodoxy’s no longer around๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply

      • Megumi
        Jan 22, 2011 @ 05:45:58

        Yep.๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s just like the death of a friend. You know you had a good time with her/him and wish you could have some more T.T

        But I’m realizing I may have made some mistakes *dying* ugh. I know I made a mistake with the heroine’s name xD (Because lol, it’s funny to read one thing and hear another. Then, my brain just gets confused)

        And get around playing it! It’s reallllly good ^^

        Reply

  8. Yui
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 07:11:22

    Is there ever going to be a Queen of darkness ~ the first moon~ english patch?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,038 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
