Dragoneer’s Beauty

(I just had to change the title.)

After I gave up on Astonishia Story, I picked up Dragoneer’s Aria since I’m in the mood to play RPGs, and the cover art was pretty interesting. …let me say this upfront, Valen’s one of the prettiest main character I’ve ever seen. The easiest (or to say, the first result Google gave me) image I found of Valen can be found at FileFront. Scroll down and you’ll see the pretty beautiful elegant dazzling white dragoon. …it’s quite amusing when the main character’s prettier than the obviously-intended-love-interest heroine. The braided blonde hair doesn’t help either. (But I read that if compared to Calintz from Magna Carta, Valen would look like the macho-est man ever. Somehow I can’t quite disagree…) But one of the companions I’m yet to meet looks like he’s going to rival Valen’s beauty. The heroines really can’t complete…

I like his costume’s design though. For a start I like to see him walk on the field because I just like how his clothes looked. I particularly like the design of his cape from behind. Anyways, on to the game itself.

Some things get tedious really fast. Whevener you enter the battle screen you have to see the short scene of the monster materialising, and when you win you have to see the character’s victory pose (usually the character that delivered the finishing blow). After your 10th battle or so, you’d wish there’s a way to skip all the animation… and to be able to turn off the animation played when you’re casting magic etc.

It’s not an RPG you play in your spare time. It’s not an RPG you play for the fun of it; it’s one you play because you like your games to mean serious business. For a start, unless you do some serious levelling up in each area you’ll have serious difficulty in the new areas. And so far, about 10 hours into the game, I’m yet to find an interesting plot twist that would make me want to play more. Plus, character design… the moment a character wearing all black was introduced on-screen, I thought, that’s a villain alright. And I was right. …wish they didn’t make it so obvious. I found this review which pretty much described what I felt so far (although that one’s more sarcastic). It also has a screenshot of how Valen’s cape looks from behind, although too bad it doesn’t show all of it…

…really should be getting back to playing otome games again, but can’t quite decide what to play…

P.S.: To people playing Patapon, have you ever gotten the melody stuck in your head? I’ve been hearing “Pata Pata Pata Pon! Pata Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!” in my head for over a week now…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karupaka
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 02:38:00

    Ahahaha I know what you mean with Patapon XD

    Reply

  2. Sharakael
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 06:59:00

    Yea, getting quite obsessed with it :S I keep on thinking that I should probably design my own Patapon mug/T-shirt and go get it printed somewhere .__.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 414,248 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
