Spore

Again, another non-otome game… but this one would appeal to people who love The Sims. It came from the same creator, so expect the same level of addictiveness.

For a description of what sort of game Spore is, read Wikipedia. To get a visual taste of what Spore is capable of offering to you, visit the official website. Normally for this sort of game I’d wag my tail and place a pre-order of the limited edition, but… reading the issue with the license makes me think twice.

I mean, having to play while you have the DVD inside your DVD-rom is not that much of a problem for me. But limiting the number of times the license can be activated…? In the last 2 years I’ve reformatted my PC twice (once a year, due to malware), and I’ve upgraded the hardware twice (once for hard disk, a second time for graphics card). That’s 4 times license re-activation. That means for me the game would only be playable for approximately 1.5 years before I need to buy another set of license. I get this feeling sometimes that game companies just want to kill off their own fanbase…

Yea, I should stop posting about non-otome games, but I swear this one is just too good not to… if only they’d find another way to implement copy protection. I rather not have something which will potentially damage my operating system, thanks.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,038 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
