Chäos;HEAd (nope, not gonna play this one)

Let me say this first and foremost: I’m a cheapskate.

When I read/play something, the first thing I want to know is whether or not the ending will be worth it. The way I see it, the ride might be enjoyable, but if in the end it lead you to a chasm it’s not going to be worth it. I don’t want to invest emotionally and spend precious time (which I don’t have a lot of) and be disappointed later on.

…yea, I’m one of those people who read the ending first before deciding whether or not I’d buy a novel.

In the case of Chäos;HEAd, I browsed forums to get a basic idea of what to expect. What I read made me decide that it’s not worth it. Highlight the following text if you really, really want to be spoiled…

Apparently, Takumi’s a despicable main character D: he’s not only socially withdrawn, he treated his younger sister horribly as well. Poeple in the forum were quite united in their opinion that he’s very dislikeable, and wondered how could any of the female characters in the game could stand him, much less like him. There was only 1 guy in the whole forum who actually liked him…

In the game, there are ‘Views’. When something happened, you’d have 2 options… the first option would cause Takumi to start imagining erotic things regarding what just happened, while the second option would cause Takumi to start imagining grotesque things (which someone said was actually the closer to the reality). If no option was selected, Takumi won’t imagine anything… and I thought, so when the main character could actually do something, they made it so that none of the options would endear the main character to the player… D: ?

Also, when it’s said that he preferred 2D world, it’s for real… there’a a female anime character that Takumi’s a fan of, and everytime he met a girl in the real world he’d compare her to the anime character, and concluded that the anime character was better after all since the anime character would be ‘eternally 17’. …my reaction when reading this was somewhere along the lines of o_@ I mean, you gotta be kidding me…

Anyways… if you read the above and can think you can play regardless, you should play the game. From what I’ve read, the storyline is awesome, as per Nitro+’ standard. …but why is the main character below standard this time… D: ?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 402,095 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
