Pirates iPhone dating sim

Got an email from Digital Manga in my Inbox, and the content was quite curious… read ahead only if you’re interested in otome games from iTunes.

Copying the description from the email, the game sounds very interesting, since I like pirates.

Arrrr, the English version of the Japanese hit mobile game “Pirates in Love” has come! For fans of visual novels and dating simulation games, this game will really be a treat. By accident you’ll end up on a pirate ship, and will be given the choice to shack up with the handsome pirate you desire. You’ll join the pirates and travel the high seas, all while discovering love. Each pirate has his own enthralling, unique storyline.

Looking at the iTunes store, it doesn’t seem to have a complete list of the available characters (compared to the email), so for the benefit of people who aren’t subscribed to Digital Manga:

  • Captain Morgan is the charismatic, womanizing leader of the Sirius Pirates.
  • Chef Nathan is quiet and boorish.
  • Doctor Christopher is kind, but a little spacey.
  • Swordsman Russell is hotheaded and passionate.
  • First mate Eduardo is cold-blooded and twisted.
  • Apprentice Thomas is determined and friendly.

The art looks very nice. The part I found to be very interesting is this:

“Pirates in Love” is now available for the iPhone and can be purchased through the Apple App Store. Each pirate’s 16-chapter story will cost $3.99.

…so 6 characters at ~$4 each in addition to the free prologue, which brings it to ~$24 for all the characters… and seems like it’ll only work on iPhone 4. I don’t use iPhone or iTunes, so I’m not sure if it’s considered cheap/expensive for iTunes games…?
Also, has anyone tried it, and is it worth it…? A part of me wishes this will be available on Android…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spadey
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 00:04:52

    I would definitely say that this is pretty expensive for all characters. I mean TwoFive’s new game is only like 24 bucks and it’s voiced. The art is pretty though so I’m tempted to buy at least one guy…

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 15:10:05

      Likewise… although I can’t get this game even if I want to, unless it comes to Android.
      Not sure why they’re making it iPhone4-only… if they at least expand it to iPad, they’d have better market coverage…

      Reply

    • monogatari
      Jul 26, 2011 @ 08:05:23

      Definitely expensive, I have to agree. Out of all the english translated otome games in the iTunes store, I have to say the art of this one is probably the best. Still wouldn’t rake out $24 for this game though.

      But you know, I’m kind of glad that it’s not voiced… If it’s voiced I’d probably just turn the voice down because the only way I can take that amount of cheesiness is if it’s in Japanese :p

      Reply

  2. Natasha Welp
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 10:00:42

    I bought the Eduardo chapter and I find it totally worth it. It surely could be cheaper, but if you consider that in the English market this probably is the only Otome title, they are charging for a unique and valuable product. I think I’ll buy them all.

    *and the characters send me emails, how can that be more cute? (I know how, Love Plus for Girls, but that’s a dream)

    Reply

    • sharakael
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 15:07:35

      I’m pretty sure in the English market this is NOT the only otome title… even on the iTunes market. I can remember “Heian Love”, at least.
      As for PC, I can at least remember “Yo-Jin-Bo”, even if that title is now out-of-print…

      Reply

  3. Hazuki
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 11:44:46

    I thought it was worth it but…this game has problems. You can’t download another story without deleting the app and redownloading it and then choose the other guys story. So frustrating but the stories are really nice! I even shed some tears! (But then again…I’m easily move ;^^)

    Reply

  4. Hinano
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 11:54:58

    the problem I’ve run into with android otome games, as I mentioned is they’re all run by this evil corporation known as GREE which refuses to let you play any of their games unless you have an account…which cannot be registered without a Japanese cell phone email. I even tried my web auone email but nope, has to be ezweb or it won’t work. There’s only 2 otome games that I posted about in my blog which were actually available to play without registering for GREE but I checked today and it seems like more are popping up so maybe it’s a new trend. I could try making one in RenPy but its sooo time consuming man lol and I don’t have the confidence that anyone would buy an otome game made by me ;;;

    Reply

  5. Faith McThenia
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 08:32:51

    i bought this game and it’s totally great but problem is i cant buy Thomas’s story or Captain Morgan’s it just says “coming soon” but Eduardo’s is the sweetest thing ever and i loved it

    Reply

  6. Ashley
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 04:45:56

    I`ve played it, and although I do consider it pretty expensive, both the story line and the beautiful art is worth it. I don`t know why people say it can only work on an IPhone 4 though, I have it on my iPod Touch and it works just fine. My personal favorite is Russel.

    Reply

  7. Tammy
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:38:03

    I love this game. I have played at least three characters. It is 3.99 a character and while it is pricey the story is very well develop for this type of a game, and in the end cost less then the Shall we date games(which are fun to play as well).

    Reply

  8. Rain
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 14:30:31

    I just checked today and it is NOW AVAILABLE IN ANDROID!!!!! YEAAAAHH

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 363,964 hits since Feb 2010

About…

Just an otome game fan. ...who spends a lot of weekends playing otome games on PC with a Japanese dictionary propped open on her lap.
